Erykah Badu has One Knee On Colin Kaepernick of the Honor In 2017 BET Soul Train Awards

HipHop News Posted on November 27, 2017 at 2:01am

Erykah Badu has One Knee On Colin Kaepernick of the Honor In 2017 BET Soul Train Awards

In addition, Cardi B, DJ Khaled, Solange, Bruno Mars, Lecrae and SZA all nab awards.

Las Vegas, NV – For the third consecutive year, Erykah Badu handled hosting duties on the 2017 BET Soul Train Awards, but this year, kicked things a little differently.

"I know I usually do a big elaborate musical number right here, but now I feel that I need this," Badu said before taking a knee, a show of support for the former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick. "This is for Kap. Kap, I thank you for giving your life, giving up her dream, 'cause that you believe in us."

#ErykahBadu takes a knee and yells #ColinKaepernick during its opening on the #SoulTrainAwards ✊🏽#OooLaLaBlog

— (@OooLaLaBlog) November 27, 2017

The fair, which celebrates its 30th anniversary this year, issued by the BET Sunday night (November 26), a couple of weeks after being taped in Las Vegas on 5 November.

SZA, DJ Khaled and the Cardi B were among a number of Hip Hop artists to take home the honors this year.

DJ Khaled beat Jazmine Sullivan, and Bryson Tiller, Mary J. Blige, Solange and SZA to win Best Collaboration for his single, "Wild Thoughts."

Cardi B of the always popular "Bodak Yellow" won the Rhythm And Bars Award, beating out French Montana, Kendrick Lamar, Yo Gotti, and DJ Khaled.

SZA walked away with two awards, one for Best New Artist and Best R&B/Soul Female Artist.

Solange was the most nominated artist going into the ceremony, notching an impressive seven nominations. She was with only one prize during the night of the big winner — Bruno Mars — walked away with five honours out of a total of six.

In the Best Gospel/Inspirational Award category, Lecrae beat, Chance the Rapper, Charlie Wilson, Kirk Franklin and Tamela Mann.

The ceremony will also feature performances by several artists, including Keyshia Cole, Method Man, the Tank and the U-God.

Check out the full list of winners below.

Best New Artist


H. E. R.

Kevin Ross


Related Content

Popular This Month